Skip to content
July 4, 2011 / daryleverett

Red Velvet Cake (vegan ish)

A slice of brown and green swirl red velvet cake with lemon buttercream icing alongside a yellow daisy.

With the 4th of July around the corner, I knew that I needed to whip up a C2-safe cake for a family birthday party held on July 4th each year.  Until now I had only made carrot cake for him so this time I decided to try something new.  I decided on red velvet and called in my mom for a tried and true recipe. She turned to her cookbooks and came up empty so to the web she went!  She found one on myveganplanet.com. I’ll copy it at the bottom of the page along with the “buttercream” recipe I found.

Since C2 decided not to sleep, he got to join the fun of baking.

Sugar, cereal and towels strewn on the floor

c2's idea of helping mommy bake.

As I gathered all the ingredients, I realized that I was almost out of almond milk. Kicking my brain into 5th gear I decided to try mixing 1/2 cup of water with some corn starch to make 1 cup of almond milk mix and then divide the recipe in half since it called for 2 cups of almond/soy milk.  This seems to have worked out fine.

I also used NoEgg in place of applesauce and divided the u-ndyed batter before coloring a bit with blue dye to make a swirl cake. (I omitted the red totally)  You will find soon (if you haven’t already) that I’m a bit of a no-rules kind of gal in the kitchen…always have been. Boy did I mix up some strange grape smoothies as a kid!

C2 helped with measuring (err dumping in a lot of) the lemon juice for the frosting.  It was very lemony but I think of you follow the proper measurement it will be fine.

Here’s the cake before I make the swirls pretty.

A round cocoa cake with green swirls on top on a stove

Here it is on my plate!

A slice of brown and green swirl red velvet cake with lemon buttercream icing alongside a yellow daisy.

A toddler crying with mouth agape

This is what happens when Mommie doesn't let C2 use the camera.

The recipe:

Vegan Red Velvet Cake (MyVeganPlanet.com)

What you need:

2 C  soy milk

2 t  white or apple cider vinegar

2 1/2 C  flour

2 C  vegan sugar

4 T  cocoa powder

1 t  baking powder

1 t  baking soda

1 t  salt

1/2 C  vegetable oil

2 1/2 T  unsweetened apple sauce

2 oz  red food coloring

4 t  vanilla extract

First, preheat your oven to 350 degrees and grease 2 round cake pans.  Set aside.  Then, in a small mixing bowl, mix the soy milk with the vinegar and allow to curdle.  In a large mixing bowl, sift the flour, sugar, cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.  Once the soymilk has curdled, add the veg oil, food coloring, vanilla, and apple sauce to the milk and stir.  Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix with a hand mixer until there are no lumps and the batter color is blended thoroughly.  Evenly distribute the cake batter into the 2 round baking pans and place them in the oven.  Bake for 25 minutes, or until completely done.  You can use a toothpick to test whether or not the cakes are finished.

Once they are done, remove them from the oven and set aside to cool.

Vegan Cream Cheese Frosting (this is not the frosting I made)

What you need:

1 C  vegan butter

1 C vegan cream cheese

4 t  vanilla extract

8 C  vegan confectioners sugar

Beat the butter, vanilla, and cream cheese until smooth.  On a medium speed setting, mix in the sugar about 2 cups at a time.  You don’t have to use all 8 cups, but I wouldn’t use more than 8.  Refrigerate until its time to frost.

When you are ready to frost the cakes, make sure you have penty (sic) of room on your counter top.  I like to make this a 4-layer cake, and you can do this by cutting each cake in 2 with a serrated bread knife.  You have to be very careful in doing this, because the layers will be thin, but it looks fantastic when where is a nice layer of frosting between each layer of cake.  Once you have done this, ice the top and the sides and you’re ready to go!  Enjoy with a big scoop of vegan vanilla ice cream!

The frosting I made (recipe found in a dairy-free discussion board somewhere, if it’s yours place contact me for credit!):

Dairy-free “buttercream” frosting

1/3 cup safe margarine

3 cups safe powdered sugar

2 TBS lemon juice

Mix it all together in small increments until it’s the right consistency.  You can add a few drops of water if you need to. I had to add water because my frosting looked like pastry dough.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. wanda / Jul 4 2011 9:41 pm

    Guess he’s just like his Mommy!!!!

Leave a Reply

