Skip to content
October 29, 2011 / daryleverett

Swamp Cake {egg-free, dairy-free, dye-free green ice cream}

Avocado ice cream cake with brownie bits and worms

I’m still trying to find that perfect dairy-free, egg-free ice cream recipe.  This one is avocado ice cream made with coconut milk and almond milk.  The recipe {found here} calls for cow’s milk so I subbed in almond milk.

I have this little ice cream maker so I used it, but there are instructions for making it without an ice cream maker.

I also got a box of Duncan Hines Dark Chocolate brownie mix and use OrgraN No Egg Natural Egg Replacer in place of the eggs.

Once the brownies had cooled and the ice cream was churned, I spread the  ice cream into a perfect brownie pan. That may not have been the best choice but it worked out OK.  I crumbled the brownie on top,  covered the pan with some wrap and put it in the freezer until the party the next day.  At the party I moved the cake into the fridge so make is easier to get off the pan.  (This is also around the time that I added the scissor-severed sour gummy worms to the dirt, if you want to do dye-free you can leave them out.)

C2 seems to love it as did my 16 year old niece.  I think the brownie mellowed out the ice cream flavor.  The adults agree that it was quite coconuty. Next time I will sub in coconut milk in place of coconut cream.

Leave a Reply

