Skip to content
February 6, 2012 / daryleverett

Thyme and veggies….or maybe Time and veggies. {Roasted broccoli, carrots and potatoes}

Roasted BroccoliRoasted Carrots and Potatoes

    Long time no see! I know. I know.  You’ve been trying to reach me and I’ve been away. I’m really sorry. Life has been so busy lately. It seems that there really is no end to the chores.  Just when I think I’m caught up and can sit and catch up on my recipe posts, something else happens and I end up behind the eight ball again.

Where does the time go? And why does it seem that some moms can manage all of this and more kids and their homes are pristine and the kids are played with? I just don’t know how they do it.

We are eliminating onion for a bit so that has been a challenge for me. In fact, I was quite frustrated with trying to plan my menu last week and called a friend to ask for help telling her I was going to starve with all of our eliminations.  I think my hormones were talking because I actually ended up with  quite a nice list of things to cook. I’m not sure that they are actually going to make it into menu form but at list I was able to get ideas to go to the warehouse and buy my meats.

What’s that? You really don’t want to hear my random musings today? You really just clicked this link to find the roasted veggies recipe? Oh, well. I understand. We are all busy folks afterall.

So here it is:

Ingredients:

1 bunch (or 2 if you like) broccoli

1-2 lbs baby cut carrots (or whole carrots cut crosswise if thin and lengthwise if fat)

2-3 lbs Red potatoes (I used organic reds so they are small)

Olive Oil (maybe 1/2 cup ish)

(Don’t you love my measurements?)

Thyme, dried, approx. 1/2tbsp for each carrots and taters.

Sea Salt (or other appropriate salt of your choice)

Ground black pepper (<1tsp I’d say)

1) Preheat oven to 450* F.

2) Put olive oil, thyme and salt to coat potatoes into a large bowl (you will be tossing each veggie in there to coat). Quarter the potatoes and drop them into the bowl as you cut. Toss them around until coated. Spread them on a baking sheet (non-stick aid of some sort is nice) and set aside. *If you want to you can put the carrots and potatoes on the same sheet if they are a single layer.* Keep your bowl!

3) Add some more olive oil to the bowl if needed as well as thyme and salt. Throw in the carrots (already cut please if they are big carrots).  Toss these around and spread onto a baking sheet. Wipe out the thyme but don’t wash the bowl (who wants more dirty dishes?)

4) Place potatoes and carrots in the oven for about 40 minutes. You’ll want to keep an eye on them and it could take close to an hour if the taters are big chunks not little ones. They should be tender but not burnt.

5) While that is cooking, wash your broccoli and cut the florets into bite sized pieces. Toss those into the bowl.  Use a veggie peeler to peel some of the stems and cut them into diagonal pieces. Toss those in as well. Add the salt, pepper and olive oil. Toss until well coated and spread onto a baking sheet.

6) If you haven’t been distracted a billion times by a 2 yr old, you should have time here to wash up the cutting board, knife and bowl.

7) About 15 minutes before the carrots and potatoes are done, add the broccoli sheet to the oven. The broccoli will get just a little bit of brown on the ends of the florets. It might start to steam or smoke a tiny bit. I’m not sure why but mine did that when I opend the oven to take them out.

8) Serve with roast or anything else….eat them alone if you want they are that good!

Use the leftover potatoes (cough) to make mashed potatoes or tater salad.

These were adapted from recipes from Martha Stewart (Roasted carrots and potatoes with dill) (Roasted Broccoli) (Roasted Red Potatoes)

Leave a Reply

