Skip to content
July 31, 2012 / daryleverett

Perpetual Bone Stock

I’ve been saving up organic chicken carcases for a couple of months now. I bag them and freeze them. I’ve also been saving the broccoli “butts” and other cast offs from my veggies. I decided it was high time to make my broth the other day and since I’ve heard about all my friends making slow-cooker broths for GAPS diets, I thought I’d give it a try. I found this recipe from Nourished Kitchen and decided to use it as a start. I tossed in the leavings of a chicken, some broccoli butts, a carrot, kosher salt and 2 bay leaves.

Each day, I took out 2 cups or so and added 2 cups of filtered water. Each day, C1 asked if I was done and declared that it was certainly “dead” by now and that it smelled like fecal matter…I did not agree. After 5 days, I decided that I would take it off the heat.

It’s very strong and I have been told it is in fact a stock and not a broth due to the extended cooking time. Whatever you decide to call it, it’s yummy to cook with!

Leave a Reply

