Skip to content
August 20, 2012 / daryleverett

Gluten-free Apple Crumble (lots of “free” actually)

Little boy eating apple crumble

We popped in to visit the in-laws on Friday night and they were having apple pie. I was alright with that until C1 made a plate, ate it in front of me and told me how good it was. The nerve! He knows apple pie is my favorite sweet and that I can’t have it ever again. OH wait! I can have it, but I get to make mine without butter, wheat and eggs. Who needs those? I decided to set things right in the universe and, at the same time, use up some of the seven pounds of apples in my refrigerator.

Upon arriving home, I went straight to visit my friend Bing and ask her for a gluten-free, vegan apple crumble recipe. Guess what! She had more than one.

The one that looked the most promising involved quinoa flakes. I decided to make some and ask Bing how to do that. She said I should rinse the quinoa and dry it thoroughly over night. I simply didn’t have time for that. This was a dessert emergency!  I skipped the rinsing (my quinoa is pre-rinsed anyway) and put them straight into the Blendtec.

A bit of pulsing and voila! Quinoa crumbs. I preheated the oven and hailed my miniature helper to mix up this delicacy. He naturally had to taste the apples before they were mixed in to ensure they were of appropriate quality. Once everything was mixed, he had to check the apples to make sure they were seasoned correctly. The 40 minutes of waiting was almost too much for him and me. As soon as the timer sounded he was in the kitchen petitioning me to serve up the treat.

I asked him to hold the bowl for me to take a picture and that didn’t last long! Clearly from those facial expressions, this was a hit.

Little boy eating apple crumble

Here’s the recipe link: Karina’s Gluten-Free Apple Crisp

*Notes*

I used 1/2 unrefined and 1/2 refined coconut oil

I used corn starch in place of arrowroot starch/tapioca

The crumb topping should be halved or part of it stored.

If you don’t want to reduce the crumb topping, you can add more apples. I think I like that idea 🙂

The quinoa was a little strong, but I think I didn’t fully grind it. Maybe rinsing again would have done the trick too.

Leave a Reply

