Skip to content
March 30, 2013 / daryleverett

I feel like a chocolatier!

Chocolate covered cherries dried

 

With a gigantic potluck and a field full of kids covered in boiled eggs and candy upon us, my heart is about to thump right out of my chest.  We’ve were able to avoid Easter family dinner last year because we were running fevers and the year before, he was too little to care what the other kids were doing with those baskets and eggs.  This year, I am afraid he will be all too interested in those ticking time bombs strewn across the lawn.  We are taking plastic eggs filled with coins and a few candies but still I foresaw cries for chocolates and other delightful edibles.  At first I planned to go to Sweet Pete’s Candy in Springfield (check them out on Facebook, their webpage is down right now). Then I realized I had a Costco-sized bag of (hopefully) safe chocolate chips and 3 pounds of almonds, surely I could turn out some treats while making less of a dent in my bank account.

Enter the double-boiler and the coconut oil.

I added about 1/2 cup chips and a scant tablespoon of refined coconut oil.  That warmed over medium heat and then kept warm over low heat, covered about 40 almonds, 20 dried cherries, 3 Ruffles potato chips and made a chunk of almond bark.  I forgot how bitter the chocolate chips were and didn’t sweeten the mix until after the first batch of almonds and all of the cherries. Then I added a few squiggles of orange blossom honey from a local vendor. The flavor of that chocolate was good, slightly honey-laden but not unpleasant.

Oh I dipped the treats out with a fondue fork and a pickle fork, tapped the handle to drop some of the extra chocolate and placed them on a parchment-paper-lined tray (plate and baking sheet actually) to cool. Once I had them all out there I put the almonds and cherries in the refrigerator and left the chips on the counter to harden.

So the next time you feel like being the Peterbrooke Chocolatier, take heart–it can be done!

Image

Yummm

Image

Leave a Reply

