Skip to content
July 8, 2013 / daryleverett

Greens and fish

image

Flounder, kale and cabbage.
I have recently started to cook my cabbage in my cast iron skillet with bacon grease and salt. Yum. This weekend I picked up a big bunch of kale at the local art and farmers’ market. (If you are ever in Jacksonville on a Saturday you should check out the Riverside Arts Market, known to the locals as RAM)  I decided to try sauteing the kale too. I think I should have cooked it a while longer but the flavor is okay.

For the cabbage, I chopped it and tossed it into a preheated cast iron skillet with some bacon grease and salt. I stir it a few times and when it starts to get translucent and browned, I take it out. 
The kale I tried to cook the same way as the cabbage but I didn’t let it stay in long enough so you should test the tenderness before taking it out of the pan.
The flounder is thawed first. Next place it onto parchment paper on a baking pan. Sprinkle with lemon or lime juice, salt, pepper (if you like that sort of thing) and maybe some garlic powder. Bake at 425 F for 8-10 minutes or until it flakes. Watch those little guys carefully or it will dry out like mine. I got busy with the kale and left them in a few minutes too long. Fish has a small margin of error.

Leave a Reply

