Skip to content
October 19, 2014 / daryleverett

Growing and learning

"I love mom" written by 4-year-old

I’m feeling rather introspective this week.  It has been a good week. A week filled with thoughts and experiences.  A week filled with frustrations and giggles. A week in which I looked at my children and saw all the potential in their lives.  A week  in which I wondered how I would make it to bedtime without breaking down into tears of frustration.  It’s been a week of challenges like every week but one in which I have been able to step back and realize that it’s not a bad life, just a bad day.

One thing that I have been reminded of this week by my children is that when I am continually find myself feeling frustrated with one of them, it is usually because he or she has reached a new developmental milestone that I haven’t adapted to.  I remember that when my son was a toddler and I was constantly frustrated, I  found new things for him to play with to challenge him and he wasn’t so needy for a while.  Recently I have been at my wit’s end with his behavior in public and toward his sister.  I know that some of it is the adjustment to having a sister, but it has been 8 months and at some point I can no longer just write it off as that and assume it will fix itself.  I began to consider the situation and discuss it with some of my online mama groups. I don’t know where I would be without them.

I have made a concerted effort to listen to C2 this week. You know the saying “listen to the little things so that one day they will tell you the big stuff because to them it has always been big stuff.”  That’s been resonating with me lately and as a result I’ve been trying to listen to him more. It’s hard. He talks incessantly. In really stopping to take the time to attend to his voice, I have discovered that he is hungry to learn to read.  He is reciting the titles of books and the predictable text from books as he finger-points accurately.  C1 didn’t understand that this is a big deal.  It is and I almost missed it by being caught up in life.  I could go on but I will summarize by saying that I am grateful that in this crazy week of ups and downs, I took the time to notice my boy and what he was telling me intentionally and not so intentionally.

What things have you almost missed with your kids because of life?  I’m sure I’m not alone in this crazy world of motherhood.

Leave a Reply

