Skip to content
October 27, 2014 / daryleverett

Spiced Pumpkin Seeds

IMG_8765fbYesterday was pumpkin carving day at my house.  We don’t celebrate Halloween, but we do celebrate Fall and carve a pumpkin.  It’s Daddy’s thing he wants to do every year. Every year he complains about how difficult it is and then the next year he always asks for another pumpkin. It’s very cute actually.  I can’t decide if he forgets that he gets annoyed or if the experience with our kids is enough to make it worth the hassle.  Either way, I get the seeds every year to roast because freshly roasted pumpkin seeds are completely worth the effort.

I always like to experiment with the flavors.  This time I found a recipe for salted caramel pumpkin seeds on The Comfort of Cooking.  I’m not one to follow directions well.  I’m more of a free spirit I suppose.  I used her recipe but I didn’t soak them and I skipped the caramel sauce and instead sprinkled the hot pepitas (pumpkin seeds) with pink salt.  They are delightful. They are sticky. I’ve been snacking on them all day, C2 snagged a few bites and Sister got to lick the scrumptious coating off of one. Please visit The Comfort of Cooking and read the full recipe there. Maybe show her some love and tell her that I sent you if you have a hand that isn’t sticky while you eat these.

~D~

Leave a Reply

