Skip to content
October 28, 2014 / daryleverett

Corn Soup

After roasting a chicken in the slow cooker, I used the bones to make broth. I only had enough bags for freezing half of my broth so the other half went into the refrigerator for soup.  Since there hadn’t been a soup on my menu, I needed to pull something together from the end-of-the-month ingredients on hand. I decided to put a bag of frozen corn into my broth and then go searching for a recipe.  A bit backwards I admit.
A quick internet search produced quite a few results. I decided to use this one that claims to be simple, quick and vegan as my jumping off pace.

I just kind of tossed things in, but for your sake I will try to share a somewhat precise process.

Corn and Potato Soup
6 cups broth (I used homemade chicken broth)
1/2 onion, chopped
4 garlic cloves, crushed (if you don’t plan to blend your soup, mince or rice the garlic)
1 bag frozen corn (about 16 oz.)
5 small-medium yukon or other thin-skinned potatoes
Salt and pepper to taste
Oil for sautéing garlic and onions
Taco seasoning for sprinkling in bowls
Cheese or cheese sub for garnish
Chives for garnish

Chop potatoes into equally sized chunks. If they are small, you can just quarter them.

Warm oil in a pot. Add onions and garlic and sauté. 
Add potatoes,salt and pepper, and stir them around in the onion-garlic mix. Cover them and let them steam for 5 minutes. I did all of this in a pan and then dumped the potato-onion-garlic mixture into my pot of broth.
Combine potato-onion-garlic mixture in a pot with broth and corn. You could measure out some taco seasoning here and mix it in if you wanted to season the whole pot at once. I used about 1/4 teaspoon per cup serving in my bowls because I wasn’t sure how it was going to taste and didn’t want to waste the whole pot if it was not appetizing. Adding it in the serving bowls also lets you omit it for little kids or picky adults plus it looks nice sprinkled on top.
Bring the broth mixture to a boil. Lower the heat and simmer until the potatoes are tender.

Simple Summer Corn Soup with the Minimalist Baker

Leave a Reply

